Recruitment 1962 style

This advert appeared in the Belfast Telegraph in 1962.

We would all now recognise 2 or 3 things that would not be seen as socially acceptable in this advert, or even nonconforming to current employment practices. Ageism, sexism … and possibly a few more ‘ism’s’. But this was of a time and a age, and seemed right then.

I also had a strange feeling when I read through some of the Department of Commerce documents in PRONI (Public Records Office Northern Ireland) at the continued focus on how many employees there would be at any one time, which was OK, ……  but the focus was also on how many of these were male, which again reflected where society was in the 50’s and 60’s.

Ref PRONI. and Belfast Telegraph.

7 thoughts on “Recruitment 1962 style

    • Hi Tony
      Now you have my head straining to remember this. I am sure I know but can’t place the initials.
      Sounds like there is a story their, so please feel free to contribute the story.
      My memory was of a system we had to record which phones where built, by whom, using barcodes. If the system couldn’t keep up with the speed of phone assembly we would get real ‘feedback’ that we were costing the girls money. There was no hiding place from that sort of feedback.
      I which area did you work Tony?

      • No barcodes in 1962 I think!

        MOWW = Men On Womens Work. I will have to write an explanation in more detail, but the system dates back to the period around 1940 when it became apparent that women would be needed in the workplace to take over from the men who were being killed for King and country. That was called Women On Mens Work, WOMW – quite different. The reason for MOWW is not at all obvious, so will need careful explanation.
        Please be patient until I can write some more.

        PS I started off as a lab boy on the top floor of Bdg 3. Basically, a gopher. Go for this and go for that! For the Circuit Lab everything was needed in ones and twos to build up the new exchange designs. I had to know every corner of the NS site to track down things like special screw or brackets, special measuring instruments, or maybe a piece of steel of the right size. I worked at NS for 22 years and did eleven different jobs so believe that I possibly knew more about all the departments than anyone. I did start writing my STC biog in 2016. Maybe I uploaded it to the NS forum? I must check!

  1. I checked on my biog and see that I never got around to correcting some errors. It was never uploaded as I had promised to make the corrections first!

    I promise to do it before next week. I will send the link when done.

      • I am thinking that you might remember a few people that I knew in Monkstown and Larne WS and engineering, where I worked. Mr Baird ran WS, working for Rolly Nelson, and in Larne probably it would have been Wilsey Kernohan and Des Cave who I worked for in the 70’s. In the 90’s I worked for IT and had many bosses and connections like John Cottinghan, Ken Dures, and many others, I travelled to NS at least twice a month for years. Wilf Ewing is a name I remember but not any detail. I will check with Jim Shaw he will know.

  2. The Wilf I refer to is Wilf Ewell. If you did meet him you won’t have forgotten. He was the most dreadful chain smoker, but very clever and friendly when you got to know him. He knew I hated the smoke, so did try to keep it down when I was with him! I didn’t know a Ewing.
    The only name I remember at Larne was the MD Roper-Evans. Not a pleasant memory for me I am afraid!
    There were so many people I only met once.

Leave a Reply

